Aleph: a review

AlephAleph by Paulo Coelho
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

What is Aleph? At first, I considered it as “Alif”, the first letter in the Arabic alphabet. I found out that it was not the Aleph that is discussed on this book. But I will not tell you what exactly the Aleph means here.

However, there is always the first in life. It means that life is a sustaining journey. It has no end, even though life of a person on this earth might be ended by death, I believe, another door open to another dimension to continue this journey.

The journey of life is clearly described on this book. Life is the train, not the station, the author says.

To live, according to the author, is to experience things, not sit around pondering the meaning of life. For me, this means you must learn every thing that might happen in this life. It is to feel the happiness, the sadness, the success, the failures, and the process within. “If you want to see a rainbow you have to learn to like the rain”.

Every the first thing of this life give various meaning for each person. One of those meanings that is presented by the author here is the search for forgiveness:

I forgive the tears I was made to shed,

I forgive the pain and the disappointments,

I forgive the betrayals and the lies,

I forgive the slanders and the intrigues,

I forgive the hatred and the persecution,

I forgive the blows that hurt me,

I forgive the wrecked dreams,

I forgive the stillborn hopes,

I forgive the hostility and jealousy,

I forgive the indifference and ill will,

I forgive the injustice carried out in the name of justice,

I forgive the anger and cruelty,

I forgive the neglect and the contempt,

I forgive the world and all its evil

Aleph is a story about the search of forgiveness. For Coelho, as described here, forgiveness will give peace and new meaning of life. It allows people to walk freely and leave all the burdens behind. The only way to solve problems is to correct mistakes and resolve conflicts.

There is nothing new in this newest Coelho’s work. But the philosophy of Chinese bamboo that is described here has made me consider about the journey of my life.(lits)

View all my reviews

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiksi, Philosophy

Leave a Reply

